The Mini-Vacation

fall leaves

We were standing outside closed doors, waiting for the meeting to start. I asked Marc how he was doing. “I’m doing alright, but I think it might be time for a mystery tour.” He looked at me and confirmed a confused reaction.

“Have I told you about my mystery tours?”

 I shook my head.

“I get in my car and start driving. I leave with no destination in mind and make turns based on stop lights and intuition. Sometimes I end up at familiar pub in Kitsilano and other days I find myself somewhere I have never been before.”

I nodded when he finished explaining himself and we walked through the conference room’s open doors. Marc didn’t need to expand on the reasons he had for feeling like he needed to spend a day driving around with no purpose or intention. I understood.

rain

Life tends to fill up. Our days, weeks and months can become packed with appointments, tasks and responsibilities. Whether you’d prefer to spend a week rocking in a hammock on a hot, sunny beach or a weekend wading through waist-deep snow in the mountains, most would agree that a vacation would be a welcomed respite from our tight schedules and daily routines. Unfortunately, vacations are not always an available option. Enter: the mini-vacation.

The mini-vacation can take on several forms. It could look like Marc’s mystery tour or it could be a walk on the sea wall. The key to the mini-vacation is to try to tap in to the sort of mindset you might have when you’re on a long vacation – that feeling of little responsibility and a calm body and mind. Maybe this means that for two hours or half a day, you turn off your cell phone. Perhaps you stay in bed for an hour longer in the morning and just enjoy lying comfortably in warm sheets, pretending for a little while that you have nowhere to be. Half an hour in the bath at the end of the day could be enough pause to quiet your mind for a restful slumber. Some prefer a walk in a quiet forest to reset their thoughts.

However you choose to spend your mini-vacation, I invite you all to carve out some time to take one. Taking your body and mind to another place can effect the way you see the world around you and give you more energy to be who you need to be to do all the things you need to do.

Words and Photos by Cassandra Van Dyck

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

