Reflecting on 2014

The shortest day of the year is behind us. Maybe you’re feeling tired from the frenzied holidays and craving rest, or perhaps you’re filled with energy and hope for 2015. This time of year can be filled with emotions – positive and negative.

3c5a9c28a8e411e3b7710e42bed4ef95_8

A few days ago, I was sent a link to a post that offers help to anyone wanting to reflect on the past year. I haven’t answered the questions yet, but just reading them caused me to think. It’s tempting to look back on the past year and focus on all that went wrong and how you might be able to change things to avoid the same kinds of hurt. I wondered, how many years have I spent the end of December looking back on all that I thought I’d done wrong or all that I thought I lacked, hoping and planning for the next year to be different? Focusing on changing ourselves can do a disservice to who we are and all of the positive things that we were and are a part of.

1740208_400482380096139_1389918849_n

I invite you all to take a bit of time over the next few weeks and write down or talk about these questions with a loved one. Please be gentle with yourselves and remember the strengths that you bring to the world.

  1. Where did I thrive?
  2. Where did I struggle?
  3. Who was important in my life & why?
  4. What lesson am I grateful to have learned?
  5. Where & how was I courageous?
  6. What brought me joy?
  7. How did I treat my body, heart, spirit, and mind?
  8. How did I show up for the people I care about?
  9. What situations triggered fear or discomfort? Did I move through them? If so, how? If not, why not?
  10. Which rituals & habits served me well and which ones didn’t?

Words and Photos by Cassandra Van Dyck

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

