Tools for practicing affirmation

Tools for practicing Affirmation

 Here you are, in the midst of a caregiving situation of some kind. You may be offering daily support to a partner or parent, which requires a lot of energy and attention.  Roles change, and accompanying emotions such as grief, worry, anger and frustration can put a heavy load on the heart. You may also be trying to arrange home care services for someone who doesn’t understand that supports are necessary in order for them to function safely at home.

Learning to be mindful of your own needs, preferences, and energy levels on this journey can be a work-in-progress.  In our caregiver groups we find that self-affirmations are a powerful tool for keeping the inner light burning, when you find yourself exhausted or discouraged. Anyone can learn to write their own affirmations- you don’t need to be skilled as a writer, philosopher, or even an optimistic thinker.

“Start the daily practice of joyful living.”
Bryant McGill

Here are a few points to keep in mind:

Affirmation helps your heart and mind re-focus itself when times are difficult. Having written affirmations out where you can see them is a great way to remind yourself of the more positive things in your life.

Affirmation notes for yourself are a way of building hope that the current challenges will not overcome you, and that they will not last forever. Hope can be defined however you like, as it is a personal tool to help you cope in the here-and-now.

Affirmations express ideas that you hold as being true or desirable, and they help move you towards positive goals.

Affirmations are most helpful when written and spoken in the present tense. ‘I am living a healthy life and respecting what my body needs’. ‘I am growing wiser and more patient’.

I’ve written a few examples to get you started:

I am happy, I am healthy, I am peaceful.

I am accomplishing great things in my life right now.

My heart and mind support me as I reach my goals.

I am patient with my learning process, and I appreciate myself for that all I am.

I embrace life with a sense of possibility.

I share love with myself and others.

My presence offers comfort, joy and compassion to others.

I encourage you to start with one affirmation per day, and get in the routine of writing it when you get up in the morning, perhaps as you eat breakfast or enjoy a warm coffee. You might want to keep a notebook, or cut out pieces of coloured paper.

“Everybody has to start somewhere. You have your whole future ahead of you. Perfection doesn’t happen right away.”
Haruki Murakami

K Davies

 

 

 

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

