Tai Chi: Meditation in Motion

 I must say that I am quite interested in better understanding the benefits of Tai Chi on physical and emotional well-being. I first became aware of Tai Chi while walking in my neighbourhood a few years ago. Many mornings I saw groups of women practicing these strong, graceful movements that resembled a slow moving form of martial arts. There was a dance-like and meditative quality about the movements that I found compelling. I also enjoyed the sense of community I observed in these frequent gatherings.

Mayo Clinic has written an accessible and informative article on Tai Chi, as quoted in their Stress management section:

Originally developed for self-defense, tai chi has evolved into a graceful form of exercise that’s now used for stress reduction and a variety of other health conditions. Often described as meditation in motion, tai chi promotes serenity through gentle, flowing movements.
When learned correctly and performed regularly, tai chi can be a positive part of an overall approach to improving your health. The benefits of tai chi may include:

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

