Mindful Monday no. 9: On Knitting

Ginger Knitting

Knitting is euphoric. It feels endless and what better way to live and end a life?! There is rhythm and power in the action. One essentially makes fabric for most uses in a portable, social, practical, natural, creative and simple manner.  There will always be something else to make as it will wear out or need darning. It has reinvented my concept of time that I’ve applied to many areas of my life.” – Kacy Dapp

I started knitting my first sweater last weekend. Since then, I’ve spent approximately six hours planning, rolling yarn in to a workable ball, and clacking needles together, slowly growing the garment row by row. At this pace, I may have a warm, wool sweater by the time April showers start to fall.

My mum taught me how to knit not long after my eighteenth birthday. I can’t remember what inspired me to pick up the hobby, but I do recall thinking it would be an inexpensive way to make presents and own beautiful woolen clothing. I was wrong. I quickly discovered that natural fibers are costly and knitting can take a long, long time. It can also take a while to get the hang of. I gave my first completed scarf to my ex-boyfriend. It was striped with grey and black to resemble a piano, like he’d asked for. He was grateful, but then told me I should consider practicing a little longer before giving anymore gifts. I ignored his suggestion and started on a second scarf for my sister. She unwrapped the present to discover a needle at one end, since I couldn’t remember how to cast off before Christmas morning.

Eleven years later, I’ve gotten a little better. I’ve made many scarves, toques, socks, and slippers. I’ve given most to people I love and it makes me smile to think of them bundled up in things I worked so hard to make.

When I sit down to knit, whether it’s on the bus, in the passenger seat of a car, in bed or on the couch, time slows down. My mind clears, my breathing is steady and whatever is troubling me feels more manageable. I know that I could go to a store and buy what I’m making for the same price or cheaper, but that’s not the point. The act of creating something slowly, with care and no pressures of deadlines or a perfect outcome makes me feel peaceful, and you just can’t put a price on that.

Words by Cassandra Van Dyck

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

