Mindful Monday no. 19 – Finding Solace in Music

Untitled

For as long as I can remember, I have been able to find solace in music. Sometimes I play my guitar or sing songs, but more often than not, I simply sit or lie down and listen to a song that connects with what I’m feeling. When I find a song that fits my emotions, it feels like I’m heard on a deep level. My breathing deepens, my heart rate slows and I’m able to let myself experience the depths of what I’m doing through.

Connecting to our emotions allows us to process and work through them. Music can be a guiding force. Of course, tastes in music vary widely – what you want to hear will depend very much on the types of music that you are drawn to. If you’re struggling to decide on what to listen to, try taking some time to think about a time when you were comforted by a song. Listening to it may remind you of others. When you’ve found a few songs you connect with, try playing them while taking a bath, sitting comfortably with a cup of tea, or lying in bed.

Here are some songs that comfort me when I’m having a hard time. Give them a listen – they may do the same for you!



What do you listen to when you’re feeling down? We’d love to hear from you!

Words by Cassandra Van Dyck

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

