A Quote for Peace

candle

Celebrated diarist Anais Nin once bought one of those tiny paper parasols in a  shop, but the parasol tore, so she went to another shop to replace it.  The shop owner said because the parasol was Japanese she should destroy it, and this is how Nin responds, in her diary:

I looked at the parasol in my hand, innocent and delicate, made in a moment of peace, outside of love and hatred. I could not bring myself to throw it away. I folded it quietly, protectively. I folded up delicacy, peace, skill, humble work…I folded the dream of peace, the frail paper shelter of peace…

(The Diary of Anais Nin, Vol.3 1939-1944)

May your holiday bring quiet peace into your home this year,

Calm Pond

We'd love to hear your thoughts.

