Easing the Transition to Senior Living: Some Useful Tips & Resources

By Catherine Bryson

June, just so you know, happens to be Alzheimer’s Awareness Month. There’s a resource for information on Alzheimer’s below, in the Resources section that follows this post.

For now, I’d like to say that, just like the title of this post, I happen to be in transition myself. I hope this post helps you. And just so you know, all the information in this post came from the following website:

From Working Daughter founded by Liz O’Donnell (‘A community of women balancing eldercare, career, kids and life.’)

Assisted living assumes a certain degree of independence, whereas long-term care is for round-the-clock care. It’s important to know the difference between the two. Think of it this way (the lowest number being the least support):

  1. Independent Living
  2. Assisted Living
  3. Long-term Care

When moving to either assisted living or long-term care, be cognizant of these:

  • Your parents may mourn the loss of their independence
  • It’s normal for you to feel guilty
  • It takes 3-6 months for someone to adjust to assisted living
  • Daughtering takes a village, enlist help with visits
  • If the senior says they want to go home, they may mean their childhood home. Allow the parent to express his/her feelings
  • Surround your parent with their personal belongings. Moving to assisted living usually involves downsizing, but things like (old school) photos don’t take up much room, or say, a familiar blanket or art piece. I did this for my father. He was in long-term care but still, I made sure he had my hand-crocheted blanket to keep him warm at night.
  • Talk to the staff at assisted living about your concerns. Be an advocate on behalf of your parent or spouse.
  • Trust your instincts.***

Resources

Try Spotify for ‘Brainstorm’ (UsAgainstAlzheimers), or ‘Caregiver Chats’ with Dr. Lakelyn

Watch the ‘Paradox of Grief’ Ted talk by Julia Samuel (15 minutes) I learned about this excellent video from NSCRs Bereavement Group. The video is available on YouTube.

Also, a couple of websites to keep in mind:

https://www.zinniatv.com

(This is a dementia-friendly channel. It isn’t free but it is quite reasonable.)

https://www.alzeducate.ca

Here’s a helpful tip:

Mayfair Senior Living in Port Coquitlam is quite reasonable, I found.

For a studio, $3900/month (including meals)

https://Aspiralife.ca I also recommend exploring alternative models of Senior Living such as the Abbeyfield non-profit model that operates in Canada and elsewhere. The houses are smaller:  instead of hundreds of residents to care for, there are only a dozen or so. Senior Living on a human scale.

2 thoughts on “Easing the Transition to Senior Living: Some Useful Tips & Resources”

  1. As I don’t know what is in the back square which I can’t open with my tablet, I might mention what is covered in there. Also, I hope this is your email address.

    If someone loves the best view possible in an assisted living building I can recommend SETON VILLA in Burnaby. Starting at $2999 everything included. Three meals and a little bus to the stores to get out. How is that possible when others start at double the amount? Because it is a non-profit. I have known five people in there. When you go over the Second Narrows Bridge, going South, look to the left and you can see the tower, which is on McGill. 360 degree views, with the top floor open for everyone plus their visitors. I hope you can look into this one. Nellie

We'd love to hear your thoughts.